A couple more bird photos for my readers…

The two photos featured below were taken a couple of weekends ago at the magnificent George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary in Delta, BC, Canada. In a few of my previous posts, I featured some of the ducks and other waterbirds we saw at Reifel. Today, you may admire a Saw-whet Owl, a lovely, small owl and a House Sparrow, an often overlooked passerine.

If you live in or visit B.C.’s Lower Mainland and are in any way interested by nature, this a must-see spot. Before you do, I encourage you to look at the sanctuary’s official website (just click on the link included above).

Northern Saw-whet Owl | February 10, 2013 | George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Delta, BC (Canada)

Northern Saw-whet Owl | February 10, 2013 | George C. Reifel
Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Delta, BC (Canada)

House Sparrow (male) | February 10, 2013 | George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Delta, BC (Canada)

House Sparrow (male) | February 10, 2013 | George C. Reifel
Migratory Bird Sanctuary | Delta, BC (Canada)

10 thoughts on “A couple more bird photos for my readers…

    1. No quite: Reifel is full of birders (naturally) and is a well-known hang out for owls, so there are many pairs of keen eyes on the lookout. In this one part of the park, we saw two Saw-whets and one Great Horned (but he had his back turned to us all the time, so there was no obvious way to take a good photo).

    1. I’m glad you liked it! I believe it is indeed the smallest in the Northern Hemisphere… I will have to check in my books to confirm, however. The oddest thing is that a few moments before seeing this one, we saw the largest North American owl (and one of the largest in the world), the Horned Owl. But since it had its back turned to us, I could not get a good picture. Do you have any small owls like in your half of the world? I think I saw the Eagle Owls on your blog, correct? That must be most impressive to see!

      1. So, to complete my earlier message (thanks to my colleague Diane G.), the Great Horned Owl is the heaviest owl in North America, but the Great Great Owl is by far the longest, with the greatest wingspan.

  1. Pierre, the Great Gray Owl is largest in length and wingspan, though GHOW is the heaviest.

    I saw this Great Gray on a field trip last week-end!:

Leave a Reply

