Birding surprises…

Two birding outings and two photos that I was fairly certain would result in an ID of a bird I had never seen before. Once again, west coast birds have thrown me a curve ball, since I first saw both species when I was a teenager and have seen them quite frequently since. Still, I am quite pleased to have seen and photographed these familiar species and seen them in a new light.

Fox Sparrow | Reifel Bird Sanctuary (Delta, BC) | March 25, 2013

Fox Sparrow | Reifel Bird Sanctuary (Delta, BC) | March 25, 2013

 

Hairy Woodpecker (female) | Simon Fraser University (Burnaby, BC) | March 27, 2013

Hairy Woodpecker (female) | Simon Fraser University (Burnaby, BC) | March 27, 2013

Leave a Reply

