D50 Archives: Wood Duck

Wood Duck (male) | Lost Lagoon, Stanley Park | Vancouver, BC | January 2013

Wood Duck (male) | Lost Lagoon, Stanley Park | Vancouver, BC | January 2013

When I arrived in British Columbia with my family in September 2011, the Wood Duck was by far my favourite wildfowl species. And it’s easy to see why: Those colours are quite simply extraordinary. And coming from the eastern part of the continent, I did not get to see them all that often.

Although they are still certainly among my favourites, I have regularly seen many other beautiful ducks in this part of the world and have had to admit that other duck species now compete for my attention. I do not know if the Wood Duck remains in the number one position. Still, they are certainly in the top 10 because they are simply quite spectacular — and as the picture below demonstrates, the female of this species is also lovely, albeit in a much more understated way.

Wood Duck (male) | Lost Lagoon, Stanley Park | Vancouver, BC | April 2013

Wood Duck (male) | Lost Lagoon, Stanley Park | Vancouver, BC | April 2013

One thought on “D50 Archives: Wood Duck

Leave a Reply

