Unsolicited Praise: Pat Bumstead

NSWO-Reifel-March_2014

This week, I would like to give a tip of the hat to Pat Bumstead. This blogger, naturalist and birder is based in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Pat is pretty passionate about birds and about their role in the larger ecosystem. In March 2009 she decided to enter the blogosphere and launched Bird Canada, a decision she says has changed her life. She also contributes to the Birding Is Fun and Birds Calgary blogs, and is a Canadian co-ordinator for the Pledge to Fledge program of the Global Birding Initiative. In the name of full disclosure, I should finish this paragraph by saying that when, in early 2013, she decided to convert her blog to a multi-author affair, I asked to join the effort and Pat accepted!

When you read Pat’s blog posts, you never know what you will learn (and normally, you will learn a lot!). To see what I mean, take a look here, here, here or here! I also cannot resist pointing you to her most popular post, “Unbelievable Snowy Owl Behaviour,” published almost two years ago, on November 19, 2012. I strongly urge you to take a look at her blog and especially take a look at some of the older articles.

I must admit I had some difficulties choosing a photo for this week’s post, because Pat is fairly discrete about her favourite birds. I’m guessing that’s because he likes them all! Still, I have noted that she seems especially fond of owls – as she pointed out in one of her first blog posts on March 31, 2009, “to many birdwatchers, owls are the ultimate challenge.” As a result, I chose a photo of a Northern Saw-whet Owl that I took in March 2014 at the Reifle Migrating Bird Sanctuary in Delta, BC. (I wish I had noted the out of focus green branch just in front of the owl before taking the photo, but I still like the result – besides, this means I have to return to Reifle to try to get a better photo of these beautiful small owls.)

3 thoughts on “Unsolicited Praise: Pat Bumstead

  1. Thank you for introducing me to an amazing blogger and photographer. I especially like her tag line: A Voice for the Northern Bird. Have a great weekend – I’m enjoying our liquid sunshine. 🙂

    1. My pleasure… Pat is indeed great! “Liquid sunshine” perfectly describes the kind of day we had (although the rain returned with a vengeance this evening, didn’t it?). I guess we’re paying for our fabulous summer…

Leave a Reply

