The hummingbird chicks have hatched!!!

ANHU_chicks-North_Van-2015_04_08

I know the photo above is far from great, since I did not want to disturb the nest too much, but I wanted to share to good news with you: After a lengthy wait, two Anna’s Hummingbird chicks have decided to point their bills out of the nest. This photo was taken in the late afternoon yesterday and I will post new ones as I things evolve! Our neighbour says the mother is often away from the nest, but can be seen busily feeding the little ones.

7 thoughts on “The hummingbird chicks have hatched!!!

  1. So exciting–thanks for sharing their progress with us! Our pair of Anna’s haven’t been around in over a month; we’re patiently waiting their return.

    1. Why thank you! But of course, I am no way responsible for what happened, so I can only take so much credit for the birth, aside from a bit of positive encouragement (and not disturbing the next too much). 🙂

Leave a Reply

