Pushing the boundaries (with a bumblebee)…

Bombus_vosnesenskii-Yellow-Faced_Bumble_Bee

At least for me! Although I did get a few adequate photos of Pigeon Guillemots a few days ago, I thought I would add a bit of variety by posting this photo instead…

Although my knowledge of entomology (and experience photographing insects) is rather limited, the Google goddess and Wikipedia have both led me to believe this is a yellow-faced bumblebee (bourdon à face jaune | Bombus vosnesenskii). It was taken in the garden/humanly created ecosystem next to UBC’s Beatty Biodiversity Museum. Now perhaps one of my faithful readers could tell me what kind of flower this is (I’m not sure if it is actually native to British Columbia or not)?

Taken with a handheld Nikon D5200 and AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED (ISO 400, 300mm, f/5.6, 1/1600).

Leave a Reply

