An ear-full or museum of Cedar Waxwings

DSC_0852 (1)

[Note: As I pointed out earlier this week, since I got several great shots at this month’s bird count of the Stanley Park Ecology Society, I’ve decided to increase the number of posts I would make in the next couple of weeks so that I can start presenting these pictures on Saturday, which is quicker than I would have done otherwise.]

Cedar Waxwings (flock in flight) | Jaseurs des cèdres | Bombycilla cedrorum: I thought I would share a more impressionistic photo of birds than I normally publish. And did you know that a flock of waxwings was called an ear-full or a museum? I had no idea, until I looked it up on whatbird.com.

Taken at Jericho Park in Vancouver (British Columbia), Canada on October 10, 2015, with a handheld Nikon D5200 and AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED (ISO 400 | 300mm | f/7.1 | 1/1600). Not baited, called in or set up.

2 thoughts on “An ear-full or museum of Cedar Waxwings

  1. Love your photos! You have inspired me to look more closely at our winged friends as I walk along the Vancouver Seawall! I’m making new friends – they seem to recognize me!!!!

Leave a Reply

