Aloha from Kaua’i!

DSC_0621

Aloha! My family and I are rapping up a great trip to the island of Kaua’i, in the state of Hawai’i. Needless to say, birding is only one of the many, many things you can do there, but I thought I would start this particular posting with a photo of one of the island’s many iconic landmarks, the lighthouse on Kilauea Point, featuring in the foreground a photo of the state bird, the nēnē (Hawaiian Goose | Bernache néné | Branta sandvicensis). Taken on December 26, 2015 with a handheld Nikon D5200 and AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G (ISO 640 | 18mm | f/13 | 1/640).

Over the next few days and weeks, I will feature some of the bird species I was able to capture during this trip (featuring for the most part my new Nikkor 200-500mm, instead of our general utility lens!). I would have liked to take even more, but birding was really not the primary purpose of this trip!

4 thoughts on “Aloha from Kaua’i!

    1. Thank you! Back already in frosty Metro Vancouver. Will have to wade through many, many photos, but should be posting more regularly than usual over the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

