Kolea (Pacific Golden-Plover)

DSC_0818

Kolea (Pacific Golden-Plover [winter plumage] | Pluvier fauve | Pluvialis fluvia): Although this species is fairly regularly spotted in the Vancouver area in the fall as they migrate south from Alaska, I had to go all the way to Kauai to see one on a beach. And then I came to realize that they are in fact quite widespread on the island and are normally found on lawns and roofs in most urban areas, parks and open country.

As a matter of fact, I could have had some excellent photos of this species on the beach (the sand was quite beautiful in the morning light), except for one crucial fact: I left my camera in our apartment. Now I did that on purpose to be able to enjoy the first day on the beach with my family, but I wish I had seen some again later on a beach, but that was not to be. Still, it was a magical moment and I was able to get many good shots of these birds later in less “natural” settings. I chose this particular photo because the sandy patch on the lawn around the complex where we were staying reduces the “grassiness” of the scene to some extent.

Taken on December 27, 2015, with a handheld Nikon D5200 and AF-S NIKKOR 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR (ISO 640 | 500mm | f/5.6 | 1/2500), slightly cropped for composition. Not baited, called in or set up.

4 thoughts on “Kolea (Pacific Golden-Plover)

  1. Nice! Would be a lifer for me. I like the Hawaiian common names better than ours, I think.

  2. I love that you leave your camera at home sometimes. I do that, too, because it’s a drag for my family who walks with me to always stop and wait while I take photos! But, isn’t that always the time you see something special? Haha. Love your photo, Pierre!

Leave a Reply

