Common Redpoll in Whistler, British Columbia

DSC_0827

Common Redpoll | Sizerin flammé | Acanthes flammea: I was so happy to get a few decent photos of these redpolls last weekend that I have changed the order of their publication on my blog.

As I’ve already indicated on Facebook, I wish I could say that I had to walk through waist deep snow in a thick forest to get to these birds. Instead, they were part of an incredibly tame flock that was wandering in the heart of a very crowded Whistler Village. I should add that the seeds on the roof of the nearby building and ground where they fed did not seem to have been placed there by humans. Instead, I believe they came from the surrounding trees.

Taken on February 7, 2016 with a handheld Nikon D5200 and AF-S NIKKOR 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR (ISO 1600 | 500mm | f/5.6 | 1/250, cropped for composition). Not baited, called in or set up.

2 thoughts on “Common Redpoll in Whistler, British Columbia

  1. Beautiful! They are such lovely little birds. I’ve been lucky to have them visiting my yard since the start of December. A neighbour has indicated that they have stayed longer than normal – I will continue to enjoy them while they are around. There have been 30+ of them visiting at once over the last week 🙂

Leave a Reply

