Common Loon near Jericho Beach

DSC_0514

Common Loon (first summer) | Plongeon huard | Gavia immer: I’ve said this before about other birds and I’ll certainly say it again… there really is nothing common about this species! I’m particularly glad that I was able to get some OK shots of this bird in its breeding plumage, before it flies off to its breeding grounds. I wished it had chosen to come in even closer to shore, but my “new” lens still allowed me to get some nice shots. And even though I had to use an extreme crop to get the photo above (to give you an idea, only …% of the original pixels remain!), it still retains a good amount of detail, with only a minimal amount of added “artefacts.”

Taken from Jericho Beach in Vancouver (British Columbia), Canada on April 16, 2016, with a handheld Nikon D5200 and AF-S NIKKOR 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR (both photos: ISO 400 | 500mm | f/7.1 | 1/1600; although the one on the bottom was cropped, the one above was seriously cropped!).

As always, this bird was not baited, called in or set up — to find out more about what this may mean, please visit my photography page on Facebook (while you’re there, please like the page) and scroll down to the post linking to Laura Erickson‘s excellent article on why she objects to overzealous photographers who bait owls.

DSC_0531

Leave a Reply

