Pine Siskin in Jericho Park

DSC_0068

Pine Siskin | Tarin des pins | Spinus pinus: This siskin was part of a small flock that was busily feeding on several deciduous trees. Unfortunately, the lighting conditions were not great, but my fabulous Nikon 200-500mm lens managed to get a few good shots (with the help of a lot of tweaking on Photos).

Taken April 23, 2016, in Jericho Park in Vancouver (British Columbia), Canada with a handheld Nikon D5200 and AF-S NIKKOR 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR (ISO 800 | 500mm | f/5.6 | 1/640, not cropped). Not baited, called in or set up.

6 thoughts on “Pine Siskin in Jericho Park

  1. That lens is on my wish list. I have a Sigma 150-500mm that is fine when the lighting is good but with low light it seems to focus slower and I think the Nikkor would be sharper. Can you handhold? I can handhold my Sigma easily but the Nikkor weighs about 3/4 of a pound more.

    1. I should begin by saying that I really, really like this lens! It is frankly superb for the price. I think you very well may be right that the Nikkor focuses better than the Sigma in low light conditions; in certain case, it does struggle at 500mm, but this is rather unusual. I handhold my lens all the time, but I have to admit that it gets quite heavy over time and I have noticed that when a bird is further out and I’m shooting at 500mm, lens movement means the image is not as sharp as it could be. I’m almost at the point where I am considering using a monopod or tripod on some shots to improve sharpness even more, especially in low light conditions.

      1. That’s interesting, thanks. I guess I should really try it out before I buy it because I would trade my Sigma in to get it. I really dislike lugging a monopod or tripod around, it just seems to distract from spontaneity.

      2. I agree with your comment about tripods/monopods. And I should say that I am only tempted (or even need) to use one of these when I am doing long-distance photos at 500mm (typically for pelagic birds).

Leave a Reply

